Mr. Dunderbak’s Restaurant, Tampa

I had the pleasure of dining at Mr. Dunderbak’s located on Bruce B. Downs in Tampa on Sunday, 5/20. Mr. Dunderbak’s serves German-inspired cuisine and has been around for 40 years. My experience here was awesome!

Although, this is my Dad’s favorite restaurant in the Tampa Bay area, I must admit that I was worried I wouldn’t find anything to eat because I no longer consume beef or pork. However, I was able to locate a few things on the menu that I could try.

I started off my dining experience with the Homemade German Potato Pancakes. I’ve never tried potato pancakes, but I’m glad I tried these. They were served with applesauce and sour cream. I asked our server which condiment was better and he convinced me to try both, together. I was hesitant and made a funny face, but I tried it and absolutely LOVED it. The sour cream and applesauce complimented each other and provided a unique taste for the potato pancakes. For my entrée, I ordered the BBQ Chicken Breast Sandwich . It was marinated in honey mustard and topped with BBQ sauce, lettuce and tomato. The sandwich was flavorful and marinated well.  As my side, I ordered the pommefrites, which are fried potatoes.  The pommefrittes were sliced, fried and salted to perfection. Unfortunately for my diet, I was feeling greedy so I also ordered dessert, the Vienna Homemade Apple Strudel. I wasn’t too fond of this because it contained raisins and was lacking in the flavor department, but this did not taint my dining experience. Overall my meal was really good.

Now, on to the service… Our server was Casey and he was great! He was very knowledgeable on EVERYTHING from the food to the wine. He answered all of our questions honestly and thoroughly. He made recommendations and made sure we were taken care of the entire time. I was very pleased with the service I received.

I would most certainly recommend this restaurant to everyone. On a scale 1-10 (ten being excellent), I’d rate it an 8.  On my next visit to Mr. Dunderbak’s, I plan on bringing a friend or two so they can experience this awesome establishment!

An added bonus is that they have in-house shop where you can purchase cheese, sausage, beer, and more.

For more information, please visit their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Dunderbaks/106370033695#!/pages/Mr-Dunderbaks/106370033695

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Thu.May.24.2012, in Bon Appetit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. who would think to eat sour cream and applesauce together 0_o lol.. But your review has made me want to try it. When I come to Tampa hopefully I will be one of those two friends you bring 🙂

    • I would have never thought to eat applesauce and sour cream together, but it was so good! So, I’m glad I did. I will definitely take you when you come; you’d really enjoy it.

    • They were ok…..different I’d say. I went there with co-workers for lunch and I liked playing with the statues and figures they had but the food I thought was ok, mostly sandwhiches. Other than that, it was ok I probably wouldn’t go there again because I expected more of a resturant than a sandwhich shop….but they have imported beer which I didn’t try yet though….I may go back for that reason though.

      • They serve other meals aside from sandwiches, but I appreciate your opinion. I tasted one of the imported beers (I can’t remember the name) and I liked it. So, maybe you should give it another go around since you know what to expect now.

What do you think?

