What About Your Friends?

What about your friends
Will they stand their ground
Will they let you down again
What about your friends are they gonna be low down
Will they ever be around or will they turn their backs on you
(Chorus from “What About Your Friends” by TLC)

Alright, so this topic comes as a request from one of my faithful readers. The question is, if you knew your close friend’s bf/gf were cheating, would you tell?

Without a doubt, my answer would be yes! I’ve actually been in this situation before and without hesitation, I told my friend that I knew her boyfriend was cheating. As her friend, I felt it was my duty to share that information with her.  For the few people I truly consider to be friends, I practice the utmost loyalty towards them. My friends’ significant others are not my friends, so I in no way feel indebted to them. Why would I withhold information from my friend that directly affects him or her? If the roles were reversed, I would expect my friend to do the same.

I’ve never cheated on anyone in my life, but I’ve been cheated on several times. It’s an awful feeling and no one should feel that way, especially if they don’t deserve it. The thought of a relationship being built on lies is enough to break down some of the strongest people. Not to mention, if those who know keep the information to themselves, they’re also contributing to the lie. Furthermore, being lied to is not the only concern involved in cheating. The fact that you’re having sex with someone outside of your relationship can ultimately put everyone’s health at risk.

These are the things I kept in mind before I gave the news to my friend. I knew that the information I had would hurt her, but it was something she should know so that she could find means to protect herself and deal with the situation. I truly consider my closest friends to be an extension of my family. I want the best for them and will help them to achieve it.

However, I realize that not everyone will share the same sentiments. There are people who would not say a word to their friends about their cheating partner. I have no idea why a “friend” would withhold that information, but to each his or her own. I just know that I better not have any of those types of “friends” on my team, even though I’m sure I don’t.

Cherish the friend who tells you a harsh truth, wanting ten times more to tell you a loving lie.  ~Robert Brault,

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Tue.Jun.26.2012, in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. MzEminentZeta6

    I personally never been in this situation but I would definitely tell my close friends if something like that was going on…cuz I would want them to tell me. Now if this close friend dont take heed to the information, I will be hesistant to tell them anything about their gf/bf in the future. As for acquaintances…you are on your own lol #deuces.

    • All you can do is provide the information. It’s up to your friend to decided what they want to do with it. Lol @ the acquaintances part!

  2. Any one who knows me, knows that I’m very outspoken, as in I say what I am feeling. And if I know my friends partner is cheating they will definitely be told that I know there partner is cheating. If I actually see the person cheating in action, I will be walking up to that person so that they see me, and let them know I see them, and I will be calling my friend immediately to let them know where I am and I just saw there partner in action with another person… I don’t tolerate disrespect. Treat others how you want to be treated!!!!

  3. Yesss! I do not owe the bf/gf anything. I will never put my FRIEND (and I stress friend) and I’s relationship at risk for withholding such important information from him or her. Cheating is serious. Those that think so minuscule of the situation have never been cheated on. Now whether my friend believes me or continues to be with him, that’s not my problem because as a friend I did what I had to do and all I can do after that is be there for her when the cookie crumbles…with a dash of I told u so. I’m not one of those “hate to say I told u so” ppl. Lol

    • LOL @ with a dash of I told you so… This isn’t a recipe. lol! No, but I definitely understand. It’s good that you would still be there to pick her up after you shared the info and nothing was done with it. I’d do the same, in fact, I did the same.

What do you think?

