Love & Hip Hop Atlanta

In the hours leading up to the fourth episode of Love and Hip Hop Atlanta (LAHHA), I thought this would be a great time to write a review on the show thus far. So, I’ve watched all three episodes of Love & Hip Hip Atlanta the day after each original airing.

My first impression of LAHHA was not a very good one. This “reality” show seems 95% scripted. The characters speak to each other as if what they have to say is memorized from a script. It doesn’t seem natural nor do I get the sense that there is a lot of emotion behind their communication. Furthermore, some of the camera shots add to my belief in the lack of reality on LAHHA. For a reality show, it doesn’t feel very real.

Some of my peers think it’s fake because they don’t believe the characters’ reactions are genuine, i.e. Mimi’s reaction to Joseline and Stevie J’s relationship. Unfortunately, in the real world, women do react to their men cheating just as Mimi did. Some women are content and satisfied with being the “main”. I don’t understand that logic and that’s definitely a topic for another day.

Now, I do believe to each his or her own, but my concern with the whole Joseline and Stevie J scandal is that no one seems to care that Stevie J had sex with Joseline without protection and continued to return to be with Mimi. If I was Mimi the first thing I would be thinking after finding out that he had sex without a jimmy and may have impregnated Joseline, is that I need to get tested ASAP. Forget the fact that Stevie J is cheating with his artist; he put himself  and more concerning Mimi at risk.

I want to add a disclaimer. I’m not associating being a stripper with being promiscuous, I’m associating having sex outside of a “monogamous” relationship with health concerns.

If Mimi decides to stay with Stevie J that should speak volumes on how Mimi values herself.  Both Joseline and Stevie J’s actions speak quite loudly on the type of people they are. They’re selfish and are only concerned with benefiting themselves.

I know I spent a lot of time on Stevie J, Joseline and Mimi, but let’s face it, their story sticks out the most. So, for the other characters, I’ll just give a brief opinion.

I’m really interested to see how the show develops Rasheeda and Kirk’s relationship. They seem to be opposite of each other. So, far I haven’t been able to see their connection, but I’m sure that will be cleared up eventually.

What can I say about Erica, Lil Scrappy and Momma Dee? Their characters are the most believable to me. However, the scene with Erica giving Scrappy a massage in lingerie seemed a bit forced. I don’t have high hopes for their relationship to be a success. Scrappy seemed hesitant when Erica questioned him about their future.  Also, the fact that I saw him in concert a couple of months ago with Buckeey on stage (Flavor of Love Contestant) doesn’t lead me to believe that he and Erica’s relationship will last. I was only reassured when I saw Buckeey in an upcoming episode. Interesting, right? Now, Momma Dee is an interesting woman. She’s spaced out, but her motherly character is duly noted.

I haven’t seen enough of K. Michelle, Ariane or Karlie Redd to give a detailed opinion. However, I can say that K. Michelle has a beautiful voice, and hopefully she can move past the stigma associated with her name. Karlie Redd seems conniving. She’s always on the bad side of drama. Ariane appears to have the most level head out of all the cast. She also seems to be a good judge of character.

Love and Hip Hop Atlanta is not a show about good values or meaningful content. It’s strictly about drama and entertainment, two key pieces that keep an audience attracted. I just hope that those who watch the show know and understand that the behavior of the cast members is a depiction of themselves and not an entire culture.

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Mon.Jul.09.2012, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes drama is the key ingredient. But that girl Karlie Redd she is messy..1-800-choke that hoe!

What do you think?

