Ordinary Woman by Donna Hill

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve slacked off severely with my reading over the years. At the beginning of 2012, I made a New Year’s Resolution to read at least 5 books within the year. Some may say that 5 books is not a lot, and you’re right. However, for someone who hasn’t read a book for leisure in quite a long time, that was a good number to start with. I’ve surpassed my goal. One of the books that I read was Donna Hill’s Ordinary Woman. I read this book in a week and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Ordinary Woman is about  infidelity between a woman’s best friend and her husband. This book is set up to tell the same story through the eyes of each main character. This format allows the readers to understand how each character was affected by the infidelity and what led up to it. While, I haven’t read many books that are formated like this, I felt that this was a great way to tell a story about cheating. In reading this book, I was able to get a full grasp on how each character viewed themselves, the situation and the others involved. That was amazing!

This book had all of my emotions involved; I was sad, mad, happy, etc. Going into this book, I was under the notion that it was going to be about the drama that stems from a woman cheating with her best friend’s husband, but it was much deeper than that. While there are a variety of reasons why people cheat (something I do not condone), it was reiterated in the book that it doesn’t necessarily have to be just about the act of sex. This idea got me thinking and put the act of cheating in another perspective for me. I, like many people in this world, thought that cheating was just about having sex with another person. For a lot of people who cheat,  it’s not. Cheating can actually be about lacking something emotionally from the relationship they’re stepping out on.

The book’s characters were well-developed and realistically created, which is why I believe I was open to accepting them. Regardless of the role each character played in the situation, I couldn’t help but to relate to each one on some level. Relatability is a wonderful characteristic for any book to have. Overall, the characters created an entertaining storyline that kept me interested the entire time.

While one may think that the story would have a bad ending, it was anything but that. All of the characters experienced growth within the facets of their own lives. And unlike a lot of books about infidelity, there was a moral to the story. In my opinion, Ordinary Woman was about the idea that everything happens for a reason and it is up to us as to how we allow things we cannot control affect us.

I would definitely recommend this book. Ordinary Woman is a book that you will feel compelled to read from beginning to end. As far as which audience I think would get the most from it, I believe that this book was written for young to middle-age women.

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Thu.Aug.02.2012, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Your review was written very well; I liked it a lot and would be interested in getting the book. However, I am reading a number of books simultaneously; therefore, it may be a while. Thanks for sharing your review Lil Cuz.

  2. Loved this Tara! Your writing is seamless and very conversational, thumbs up!

  3. I have check out this book, I have been slacking too … Got to get back to reading … Keep up the great blogs … I enjoyed reading as always # Proud of you

    • Yes, you should! It’s a great book, and she’s a great author. Thank you, I will. And you should get back to reading. For me, it’s a way to escape the world.

  4. * to check out

What do you think?

