White After Labor Day?

It never fails. Every year the discussion about wearing white after Labor Day comes up.

White is considered a “summer” color and since Labor Day marks the official end of the summer season, wearing white after that day is frowned upon by some. In my opinion, I think this rule is outdated. I’ve lived in Florida all my life, and sometimes we experience summer-like weather year-round. We don’t really get to experience seasons like other parts of the country. With that said, I think wearing white after Labor Day is fine, as long as it’s done in moderation. I wouldn’t recommend wearing all-white or throwing an all-white party, but I think when paired with a fall color or any color that doesn’t look summery, it is acceptable.

After visiting different fashion-related websites and blogs, I’ve noticed that a lot of people share the same sentiments. I think the No White After Labor Day Rule was or is something held on to by the older generations. I can’t lie though, the thought of committing a fashion crime definitely resonates when choosing to wear white after Labor Day.  However, the times have changed, and so have the rules that limit people from expressing themselves fashionably. Now, if you are hesitant about wearing white after Labor Day, try wearing colors that resemble the color, like pearl, off-white, or ivory. Wearing colors that resemble white may alleviate the uncertainty you have about committing a fashion crime.

I’ve expressed my opinion on this old rule, but I’d like to know what you think. Is wearing white after Labor Day a no-no?

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Sat.Sep.15.2012, in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like white so yes, I will be still wearing it … lol … Wondering wear that rule started from … Any idea ?

What do you think?

