Beef & Brandy [Chicago]

Sigh, where do I  begin?

The atmosphere and set up of this restaurant was the best part of my entire dining experience. It is set up like Ruby Tuesdays. Like Ruby Tuesdays, it has a bar, a lot of dark wood, and pictures on the wall. I wouldn’t suggest going here for a romantic date, but if you must try it, go for a lunch outing or to catch the game. There was very casual, laid back atmosphere, which is something I enjoy when dining out with friends.

Upon sitting down, we were greeted by our server in a timely fashion. She didn’t seem to be very interested in serving us though. I observed how she interacted with her other tables, and she treated them a lot better. She was cheerful, and helpful. She checked on them regularly, and made sure their glasses were filled. When it came to our table, she never checked on us nor did she keep our glasses filled. She was quite dry and totally not energetic. That really bothered me, especially after observing how she interacted with her other tables. Then to top it off, she left and someone else picked  up our table. It took him forever to come to our table at first, but at least he was a bit more energetic and helpful.

I ordered the chicken sandwich. It was served on Cuban bread, and came with the regular garnishes, avocado and fries. I like Cuban bread, so I thought this sandwich was going to be really good. Unfortunately, it wasn’t what I hoped for. The chicken was tasteless. Not even my avocado could save this sandwich.  I don’t think they added any type of season to it nor did they marinate it. I had to order honey mustard to give it some type of flavor. The fries were good, but  it’s hard to mess that up. Overall the food was mediocre.

While visiting Chicago, I just knew that we wouldn’t eat anywhere bad, but this place definitely ruined that idea. To make matters worse, it was the first place we ate while in Chicago. Thankfully, none of the other restaurants we visited disappointed. I’ve mentioned before that I will always try a restaurant again, but I don’t really see myself trying this place again when I go back to visit. Needless to say, I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant. There are so many other great restaurants in Chicago to eat at, and this just isn’t one of them.

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Tue.Sep.18.2012, in Bon Appetit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

