Girl Fight: Keyshia Cole vs. Beyonce

keyshia-beyonceBey. King Bey. Beyonce. Mrs. Carter. Whatever you want to call her, just released a promo song for her upcoming album called, Bow Down/I Been On. There’s been a lot of hooplah surrounding Beyonce’s latest project. Needless to say, I had to listen to the track myself and form my own opinion.

I don’t like the song. I’m not a huge Beyonce fan; I do like some of her previous work, and I have no problem admitting that. Her latest song, Bow Down, is definitely something that I am not a fan of. It’s a known fact that Beyonce is dominating the female R&B world. So, was it necessary for her to come out with a track like this? Furthermore, what was up with repeating “Bitch” through the entire song? I don’t like when men call women bitches, and I most certainly don’t like it women do it either. Now, I know that she’s been receiving a lot of flack lately, but I don’t think this cocky ratchet song was a great way to go about handling the situation.

The thing about Beyonce that I did admire in the past is that she really didn’t give into the negativity and criticism thrown at her. I’m not sure where the change of heart came from, and I wonder if this is what we should expect from her moving forward. Now, there are a lot of people supporting Beyonce and the direction she went with the song. However, there are a lot people who, like me, don’t care for it. Keyshia Cole being one of them.

Soon after the track was dropped, Keyshia Cole took to Twitter to declare her opinion of Beyonce and her new song, Bow Down.Screenshot_2013-03-19-16-21-49-1

Of course you can’t compare the careers of the two ladies. Obviously Beyonce is more successful. So, was Keyshia hating? No, I don’t think so. I think the point she was trying to make is clear, but the delivery definitely lacked. There are double standards when it comes to musicians, and the projects they put out. I believe that was the point Keyshia was trying to make, but she didn’t do a good job making it. Her response, I believe, made her look bitter. And it didn’t help that she just lashed out against Michelle Williams of Destiny’s Child. After the Destiny’s Child Super Bowl performance, Cole tweeted about how Michelle Williams is always messing up the flow. I can’t say that I disagree with her thoughts on Michelle, who has always seemed like the third leg, but the delivery of the message was an epic fail.

I think Keyshia Cole (and probably other female artists) was offended by the song, and thought that Beyonce was using the song to undercut her competition. It does appear that way, but I don’t think Keyshia should have went off like that. Who knows though? Maybe this ‘new’ Beyonce has been there all along and is now ready to come out to the world. Either way, I’m not choosing sides in this matter. I just think it’s quite petty, especially since both women are making money in their respective careers and appear to be happy with their new families.

Have you heard Beyonce’s new track? If not, below is a link to the track. Take a listen and share your thoughts on Bow Down/I Been On and the beef between Beyonce and Keyshia Cole.

 

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Tue.Mar.19.2013, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I LOVE Beyonce, but I def am not loving this song. I still dont know how to feel about it. Maybe if I knew what direction she was coming I could understand but I dont and I dont like all that unnecessary cussing. Maybe this precursor for something great to come or maybe its this illuminate thing coming out of her.

    • It’s good to know that some of her real fans aren’t really digging the song either. It reassures me that I’m not hating. 🙂 Yes! The cursing was definitely unnecessary. I’ve been hearing a lot of connections to the illuminate, so maybe it is that. Thanks for your comment!

  2. To be honest I liked her when she was part of Destiny’s child. After that not so much. I don’t really think she has talent. She has done great things don’t get me wrong. As for the song, it makes her look low. I used to admire her way of avoiding all the negativity. This just makes her look low. I would never listen to a song like that… It just change my entire perspective of her.

    • I like some of the music she’s put out as a solo artist, but this song I am not a fan of. The cursing is unnecessary, and it’s demeaning. I agree that it makes her look low. And it has tainted my view of her even more. Thanks for sharing Carla!

  3. I feel like the song was to her haters that be talking about her and what not. not to every female

  1. Pingback: Beyonce’s Song Bow Down/I Been On: All About Women Empowerment or Boasting Her Accomplishments? | Enter MentalWriting's Domain

  2. Pingback: News Media Source, Urban Search Engine Founded From A Hip Hop Site Based On World News, Entertainment News And Celebrity Gossip » Keyshia Cole Becomes A Stripper

  3. Pingback: It’s Beyonce’s World. Stop It, I Want to Get Off. | The Domino Theory by Jeff Winbush

What do you think?

