Week 1: Insanity & WW

7/10-7/14 [Sunday was an off day and I didn’t officially start until Monday. I posted my official start with Insanity & WW on 7/9]

Day Two (Plyometric Cardio): I damn near died. I am not a sweater, but today I couldn’t tell. I looked like a chocolate glazed donut. Today was definitely a good a workout. I completed the workout, but I did take a few breaks in between. Next time I cross this workout, I’m sure I’ll be able to get through it with fewer breaks.

Breakfast: Oatmeal (Weight Control Maple & Brown Sugar) with Soy Milk

Lunch: Smart Ones – Broccoli and Cheesy Roasted Potatoes

Dinner: Progresso Light Clam Chowder, sliced chicken sandwich (whole wheat 45 cal bread, mustard, Cajun seasoned chicken (deli meat) & 1 slice of sharp cheddar cheese)  and Cheetos (1 oz).

Drinks: Water & Green Tea

Snack(s): Cherries

Day Three (Cardio Power & Resistance): This was hard, too. I wouldn’t say it was as bad as the Plyometric Cardio though. I was able to keep up more with this workout. I pushed myself more and took fewer breaks. Once again, I was drenched in sweat.

Breakfast: Oatmeal with Soy Milk

Lunch: Smart Ones – Fettuccine Alfredo

Dinner: Progresso Macaroni and Bean soup, sliced chicken sandwich and tortilla chips (1 oz.)

Beverages: Water & Green Tea

Snack(s): Cherries

Day Four (Cardio Recovery): Cardio Recovery is just what I needed. After two days of soreness, my body definitely need a good stretch and recovery. I’m quite thrilled that there are days like this that allow my body to recoup after so much intensity. Tomorrow is Pure Cardio, I can only begin to imagine what my body is about to through!

Breakfast: Oatmeal with Soy Milk

Lunch: Smart Ones – Broccoli and cheesy roasted potatoes

Dinner: Progresso Macaroni and Bean soup, sliced chicken sandwich and Cheetos

Beverages: Water & Green Tea

Snack(s): Cherries and Bananas

Day Five: (Pure Cardio): Umm… This workout was just as the title states, PURE CARDIO! There were no :30 second breaks once the workout started. I did take a few breaks though. During this workout, I realized my biggest weakness is push ups. I have minimal upper body strength. So, a few exercises within this workout were extremely difficult. I’m sure with time, I’ll build my upper body strength so that I can do a real push up and not a half one.

Breakfast: Oatmeal with Soy Milk

Lunch: Smart Ones – Broccoli and Cheesy Roasted Potatoes

Dinner: Tuna Sandwich, Baked Cheetos and potato salad (store-bought)

Drinks: Water & Green Tea

Snack(s): Cherries

Day Six: (Plyometric Cardio): I think this type of workout is the hardest on my body. I sweat a lot more doing the Plyometric Cardio than any other exercise. I pushed myself and took fewer breaks. Great workout!

Breakfast: None. I woke up at 11:30am.

Lunch: Tuna Sandwich, Cheetos

Dinner: Lawnmower Salad (Dave and Buster’s) – Romaine lettuce, 1/2 cup of Balsamic Herb Vinaigrette, 2 oz of chopped chicken breast, boiled eggs, red onions, avocado, bleu cheese crumbles, green peppers, red peppers, tomatoes. I ate 2/3 of the salad.

Drinks: Water

Snacks: Banana & Pretzels (100 cal pack)

______

Tuna Recipe

Canned tuna (1), 1 tbls of olive oil mayo, mustard, chopped dill pickle, salt, pepper and cooked egg whites.

_______

Now, I know I didn’t eat the healthiest, but I’m taking steps to lead a healthier life. The key word is “steps”. I also forgot to weigh myself yesterday and this morning. So, I’ll update this tomorrow with my results from week one.

 

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Mon.Jul.16.2012, in Beauty & Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great job. Just to forewarn you the first couple weeks are warning you up for something bigger. What were your results of your first fit test?

    • Thank you! I know, I know. I looked at the calendar for next month. I was like, “Oh, Lord”. I know it’s going to get tougher. My results for the fit test were pretty bad. lol! I’m so out of shape, it’s not even funny.

  2. I am soooo proud of you Lil Cuz….. continue to do what you are doing and we will see the fantastic results sooner than you think! I’ts nice to see each meal recorded; and yes, I too eat a lot of “great’ oatmeal. 🙂 I see the sweat dripping in the picture; just think of it as a sauna refresher; cause you still look good!!! I will be checking back and take care!!!

    • Thanks cuz! I’m pushing and striving for results! You keep pushing too! You take care too!

      • Tara, It’s good when you have chosen a path to optimum health and fitness. You certainly are putting in the effort and commitment to your goal. Congratulations for that in itself is an achievement. But why is it called Insanity? It’s really not is it…I mean it’s a healthy nutritious meal plan and exercise program right? It is going to help you and not hurt you correct? Have you set any boundaries for the results you want? You look thinner all ready. Do you sense the change? What is your body telling you about how this is going? It’s exciting to make changes outward and inward too. What can you teach others from this experience? Your blog followers want to know. You keep us so interested in your inspiring journey. Jeanie

      • Insanity is a very intense workout. It actually looks and feels pretty insane. I am not putting my health or body at risk by committing to this workout. It’s tough, but manageable.

        I’m only concerned with the workout/excercie poriton of Insanity because I’m on Weight Watchers.

        I know what my weight loss goal is, so that is what I’m aimig for at this point. I may continue with another beachbody workout at the conclusion of Insanity though. I want to stay fit.

        I have noticed a difference, but I don’t want to focus too much on that. I want to see the finished product!

        My body is sore, but that comes with the territoy. With my background in sports, I know when to stop to avoid energy or overexertion. While I have a goal to reach, what good would it do me to overstrain myself so that I am unable to attain it?

        I hope with these weekly updates, I can provide some type of motivation for my followers to start leading healthier lifestyles. I’m not promoting Insanity or Weight Watchers, but rather showing how I am going to achieve my health and fitness goals.

        Thank you so much for the questions!

  3. Good answers Tara. You appear thinner and look healthy at the same time. Intensity is a good thing. Not sustainable without a reasonable intermission from time to time but it is good to challenge your limits to find out what your capacity actually is. Most of us do not do that enough. If you don’t go after your goal…you will never have it. If you don’t take a step in a positive direction you will stay stuck in the same place. Your fan’s are looking on at your journey with admiration and respect. Thank you for sharing and stepping up the pace for optimizing your health and nutrition. I took note with interest that you are going with soy products. Soy is such a good source of protein and vitamin A vitamin C and Calcium. I just learned to cook with Tofu myself and am introducing my self to the soy milk now as well. Like you, I can see the difference and am enjoying the benefits. Jeanie

    • I feel a lot better when I eat properly and get the right amount of exercise.
      I am not a big tofu person, but I do love soy milk. It’s a wonderful substitute for regular milk. I am happy for your progress and that you’re able to notice a difference. That’s great news!
      Thank you for commenting.

  4. I had no idea you were doing this… I can talk about health and eating correctly for HOURS!! If you want and care to know I have various documentaries that will open your view on our food and the food we eat… I have changed so much in eating. I have the eating correctly part but the exercise is missing. I keep making excuses and it is harder with my little one. I have lost about 40lbs just by eating correctly. My family is mostly vegetarian. We don’t eat red meat (maybe once a month) or seafood and occasionally eat chicken but it has to be organic. We get ours from a small farm here close to the house. My youngest is almost 100 percent vegan. She loves Coconut milk… I am so glad that you initiated eating correctly it makes a different. We juice from time to time as well. Please verify that your soy milk is not modified as about 91% of all the soybeans planted are Modified. All of our produce is 100% organic and our bread comes from stone ground flour from a small bakery that only uses organic ingredients. It is a little bit more expensive but its good. I have my mom buying organic milk and obviously the top dozen dirty only in organic. My son loves and I mean LOVES oatmeal he can eat it all three meals…. Oh and his green juice (Spinach/kale, celery, cucumber, apple, and ginger). I wish you the best of luck in your work out and will definitely follow you to see your progress. You can DEFINITELY See it already in the picture you posted already… Let me know if you want the name of the documentaries…. Try Teavana tea (that is what we drink here) its delicious and good for you. They have matcha tea as well…

    • Yeah, girl. I set a few goals this year and one of them is to get healthy. Balancing eating healthy and working out is difficult, at least for me. When I started Weight Watchers, I was only concerned about what I was eating. I worked out occasionally, but now I am motivated to eat correctly and workout.

      I think that is awesome that you have such great eating habits and have instilled those values in your children’s lives. I don’t think I’d be able to become a vegetarian, though. I never really ate pork and I no longer eat beef. I’m not going to lie. It’s been about four years since I ate beef, but I still crave for it. Some days I could really go for a juicy sloppy hamburger, but I just go with a turkey one instead.

      I used to love milk as a child. I’d actually drink it as a thirst quencher. Nowadays, I don’t drink as much milk because I think I’m on the verge of becoming lactose intolerant, which is why I drink soy milk. Since you mentioned that I should verify if my soy milk has been modified, I’m pretty sure that it has been considering it’s made by Silk. I hate coconuts, so coconut milk is a no go for me. I am still picky about what I eat, not much has changed since we were younger. I used to hate oatmeal, but I forced myself to eat it. So, now I guess I like it. lol!

      I will definitely look into Teavana tea. I hope to be able to eat more organic and less processed foods, but I know it may take awhile to make that transition.

      Thank you for sharing Carla!

What do you think?