Gladys and Ron’s Chicken and Waffles [Atlanta]

I am definitely shaking my head while writing this review. I had high expectations going to this restaurant located in Atalanta. My expectations were met with disappointment.

I ordered a chicken breast, waffle, catfish and grits. The chicken and waffle came out cold. Yuck! My butter didn’t even melt on my waffle. I asked the server to nuke my chicken and waffle, and that’s exactly what she did. Everyone knows what warmed-up fried chicken tastes like; it’s gross. She should have said that she’d have the kitchen make a fresh waffle and chicken breast. After re-receiving my chicken and waffle, I didn’t think there was anything special about them at all. Considering this restaurant is supposed to be known for these two items, I was quite disappointed that it had no flair and was just the average chicken and waffle combination.

The catfish was pretty good though, but the grits were salty. I wish that I had only ordered the catfish and grits because I wasted my money ordering the chicken and waffle. I’ve definitely had better.

The server was okay. She was somewhat attentive to our table; she could have checked on us more often. After the food was delivered, she kept away for quite a while. There was nothing spectacular about her service.

I was really excited to visit this restaurant, mainly because of the names associated with it. However, that’s all this restaurant stood on, its name. This was later confirmed by a resident of Atlanta, who said that people only go there for the name because the food is not all that good. Now, the menu offered a lot of other options. So, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I don’t recommend it. I’d give it another shot, but I would definitely order something else.

About Tyla Times

Writing is my passion. Please support and subscribe!

Posted on Thu.Nov.08.2012, in Bon Appetit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?